Part of the Balkans, Yugoslavia was a diverse ethnic and religious population. A number of events led to the breakup of Yugoslavia in 1992 and there are many websites and books devoted to the topic.


Today the former Yugoslavia consists of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia and Kosovo.  The region is fascinating and each country is interesting and worth a visit with a coastline along the Adriatic Sea, mountains, historical sites and monuments, and a variety of cultures to experience.

My one complaint is it was difficult to travel from country to country.  I ended up in the Belgrade airport a few times trying to navigate to the next country.

Capital City:

  • Bosnia and Herzegovina ~ Sarajevo
  • Croatia ~ Zagreb
  • Macedonia ~ Skopje
  • Montenegro ~ Podgorica
  • Serbia ~ Belgrade
  • Slovenia ~ Ljubljana
  • Kosovo ~ Pristina

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.